The Experimental Physiology Early Career Author's Prize

Are you eligible to compete?

The Experimental Physiology Early Career Author's prize has been established to reward early career authors who publish outstanding research papers in Experimental Physiology which best meet the journal's remit of translation and integration.

Entries are invited from scientists who are the first author of a research article published in Experimental Physiology during the prize year. Authors will be asked if they are eligible to enter when their paper is accepted for publication. Senior authors of shortlisted articles will be asked to verify the extent of the first author's contribution to the article.

An author may have more than one manuscript considered for the prize. Only one prize can be awarded per manuscript or per author. Where more than one Early Author has contributed to a paper the prize will be split on the advice of the senior author. The winner will receive an award of $1000 US dollars and the runner up will receive an award of $500 US dollars.

Applicants must have received their research degree (MD, PhD or equivalent) less than 6 years before submitting the paper. In the case of candidates who have both a MD and PhD the date of the most recently awarded degree should be used. PhD students are also eligible to apply.

Entries will be judged by the Experimental Physiology Editorial Board from articles published during the prize year.

Prize results will be published in Experimental Physiology and Physiology News in the spring of the year following publication.

2016 Prize Winners


Runner up

Winnerphoto runner up photo

Havovi Chichger

Brittany A. Edgett

Experimental type II diabetes and related models of impaired glucose metabolism differentially regulate glucose transporters at the proximal tubule brush border membrane

SIRT3 gene expression but not SIRT3 subcellular localization is altered in response to fasting and exercise in human skeletal muscle

Havovi Chichger, Mark E. Cleasby, Surjit K. Srai, Robert J. Unwin, Edward S. Debnam, Joanne Marks Brittany A. Edgett, Meghan C. Hughes, Jennifer B. L. Matusiak, Christopher G. R. Perry, Craig A. Simpson, Brendon J. Gurd

Experimental Physiology Vol:101, Issue 6 
Pages:731–742, June 2016

Experimental Physiology Volume 101
Issue 8, pages 1101-1113, August 2016

Previous Winners



Shingo Takada: Curcumin ameliorates skeletal muscle atrophy in type 1 diabetic mice by inhibiting protein ubiquitination
Taisuke Ono, Shingo Takada, Shintaro Kinugawa, Hiroyuki Tsutsui

Runner Up:

Melissa Erickson:Skeletal muscle oxidative capacity in patients with cystic fibrosis
Melissa L Erickson, Nichole Seigler, Kathleen T McKie, Kevin K McCully, Ryan A Harris



Robert Regenhardt: Centrally administered angiotensin-(1–7) increases the survival of stroke-prone spontaneously hypertensive rats by Robert W. Regenhardt, Adam P. Mecca, Fiona Desland, Phillip F. Ritucci-Chinni, Jacob A. Ludin, David Greenstein, Cristina Banuelos, Jennifer L. Bizon, Mary K. Reinhard and Colin Sumners

Runner up
Martin Bahls: Mother's exercise during pregnancy programmes vasomotor function in adult offspring by Martin Bahls, Ryan D. Sheldon, Pardis Taheripour, Kerry A. Clifford, Kallie B. Foust, Emily D. Breslin, Jeremy N. Marchant-Forde, Ryan A. Cabot, M. Harold Laughlin, Christopher A. Bidwell and Sean C. Newcomer



Nathan Bracey: The Nlrp3 inflammasome promotes myocardial dysfunction in structural cardiomyopathy through interleukin-1β by Bracey NA, Beck PL, Muruve DA, Hirota SA, Guo J, Jabagi H, Wright JR Jr, Macdonald JA, Lees-Miller JP, Roach D, Semeniuk LM & Duff HJ

Runner up
Fan Ye: Overexpression of insulin-like growth factor-1 attenuates skeletal muscle damage and accelerates muscle regeneration and functional recovery after disuse by Ye F, Mathur S, Liu M, Borst SE, Walter GA, Sweeney HL & Vandenborne K


Marcia J. Abbott: AMPKα2 is an essential signal in the regulation of insulin-stimulated fatty acid uptake in control-fed and high fat-fed mice by Marcia J. Abbott, Silvana Constantinescu and Lorraine P. Turcotte

Runner up
Richard M. Bruce: Muscle afferent activation causes ventilatory and cardiovascular responses during concurrent hypercapnia in humans by Richard M. Bruce and, Michael J. White


Adam P Mecca: Cerebroprotection by angiotensin-(1–7) in endothelin-1-induced ischaemic stroke by Adam P. Mecca, Robert W. Regenhardt, Timothy E. O'Connor, Jason P. Joseph, Mohan K. Raizada, Michael J. Katovich, and Colin Sumners

Runner up
Charles C T Hindmarch: The transcriptome of the medullary area postrema: the thirsty rat, the hungry rat and the hypertensive rat by Charles C. T. Hindmarch, Mark Fry, Pauline M. Smith, Song T. Yao, Georgina G. J. Hazell, Stephen J. Lolait, Julian F. R. Paton, Alastair V. Ferguson, and David Murphy


Thomas O'Brien: In vivo measurements of muscle specific tension in adults and children by Thomas O’Brien, Neil D. Reeves, Vasilios Baltzopoulos, David A. Jones,and Constantinos N. Maganaris

Runner up
Thomas Seifert: Glycopyrrolate abolishes the exercise-induced increase in cerebral perfusion in humans by Thomas Seifert, James P. Fisher, Colin N. Young, Doreen Hartwich, Shigehiko Ogoh, Peter B. Raven,Paul J. Fadel and Niels H. Secher

Peter Rasmussen and Patrice Brassard joint first authors: Evidence for a release of BDNF from the brain during exercise by Peter Rasmussen, Patrice Brassard, Helle Adser, Martin V. Pedersen, Lotte Leick, Emma Hart, Niels H. Secher, Bente K. Pedersen, and Henriette Pilegaard

Runner up
Daniel Breseghello Zoccal: Sympathetic-mediated hypertension of awake juvenile rats submitted to chronic intermittent hypoxia is not linked to baroreflex dysfunction by Daniel Breseghello Zoccal, Leni GH Bonagamba, Julian F.R. Paton, and Benedito H Machado

For further information please contact us.